The Two Types of Anime Watchers

Type B stereotype like

If you like this, then you are Type B. Good luck coping otaku-chan~!

So, I’m going to start off by saying that I didn’t’ come up with this by myself and I took this from Sankaku Complex, who took it from 2ch. Anyways, I’m sure that you all know that there’s various types of otakus. In those types of otakus, there must be several subgroups. Luckily, 2ch has broken down “anime otakus” into 2 convenient categories that I’ll be discussing. So without any further ado, the list:

Type A:

A person who simply enjoys “anime.”

Is proud of Japan’s anime.

Evaluates anime based on direction, voice acting, art, etc.

Hates shallow anime with no real content.

Story emphasis >>>>> Moe anime.

A recent example would Higashi no Eden. Fans of anime like Lain or Ghost in the Shell would probably be this kind.

Type B:

A person who simply enjoys “characters.”

Will watch an anime if it includes cute or beautiful characters.

Doesn’t care if story is awful, as long as the characters are of interest.

Evaluates anime based on which seiyuu are in it and what the characters look like.

Loves moe elements. Doesn’t like complex anime.

The otaku the media picks up on are usually this kind.

Doesn’t know that much about anime and so is often criticised as by Type A otaku.

However, they make much better customers than the more discerning Type A otaku.

Recently there has been a huge increase in anime targeted at Type B otaku.

People who like K-ON!, Queen’s Blade, Strike Witches and so on would be in this class.

After taking a look at this list, what type of anime otaku do you think you are? Personally, I don’t think I’m an otaku based on the fact that I don’t own any anime figurines (save for Gunpla) nor do I have dakimuras & etc. Although I fit almost perfectly into Type B, I do believe that these are just preferences that each person has. Also, according to Type B, most otakus who are Type B have horrible tastes in anime and only like the characters. It’s true that I may have odd tastes compared to usual anime watchers, but I don’t think that’s the right way to classify someone. These are just all opinion based points that don’t really serve much purpose at all. Anyways, I know I constantly say that I’m not an otaku, but fans of OreImo already know of the famous “closet otaku” who doesn’t admit nor look like they are otakus. Perhaps I’m just a Type B deep down, but regardless of which, I’d like to avoid being branded as an “otaku”.

Just because you have characteristics or tendencies that are mentioned on the 2 types, doesn’t label you as an otaku. You may just be a fan of anime and only watch it occasionally, and you have a life. I think, the only people who should be named as otakus are the radical people who are actually willing to shell out $160 USD for the next cold cast figma/figurine (whatever, I don’t know about figures that much). Not that what they’re doing is bad, but I just don’t want to be labeled as an otaku (for relationship purposes & impression).

As for the general otaku hate, I don’t think that calling people otakus are bad, but just rather the negative connotation that North American society associates with it. In Asia, people still have a bad image of otaku, but not nearly as bad as the “oh you’re such a geeky nerd!” that type of stuff you might hear if you’re caught reading a manga in your North American school library. In Asia, the amount of anime I watch and the manga I read is probably just slightly higher than the standard high school male, but still not even close to the extremes of an otaku. If the connotation of otaku improves over time, then I wouldn’t mind being called one, even though my standards of an “otaku” might be different from someone.

Speaking of “otaku” standards, what do you consider as an otaku? As I said before, I think otakus are people who spend most of their salaries on anime merchandise, attend Vocaloid concerts (wait…even I want to go), have many dakimuras, play eroge all day long, live in a small dark room, stare at their computer screen all night (wait…I do this too…), don’t have girlfriends, prefer 2D girls to 3D girls, and are quite antisocial. Therefore, as you can see, my example of an otaku is quite the extreme, and I’ve yet to go to such stages, thus I refuse to be called an otaku.

What are your thoughts?

About SabishiiMiruku

Venti cup of Tsundere and Imouto service. Free of charge. Student, Blogger, & アニメ青年 | なんでやねん?!|

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Anime, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I find the list a bit puzzling. After reading it, I felt that the name should be “Two Types of Anime Watchers”. I say that because the term otaku as defined by popular culture are people who are obsessed with something, whether it be manga, anime, games, etc. If I take the list and use it as a way to differentiate different types of anime watchers, I see more sense in it and can apply it more to myself and my friends. I would fall under Type A, while my roommate would fall under Type B.

    • Yeah I would agree that the name of the post should be somewhat different, but seeing how I took the two lists from Sankaku Complex, I thought I should keep the original name. Regarding the Type A and Type B, I feel as if the list was poorly defined because not all people have exact characteristics of each list and they may have a fusion from the two types. I’ll change the title just so it makes more sense though!

      • You didn’t have to change it! It was just my dislike of the list that 2ch came up with. I do agree with you on how the list is poorly made. It generalizes too much for my likes. ^^;;

      • Well I felt the post was in need of a name change anyways 😛
        Thank god I’m not the only one who felt 2ch was being a somewhat unreasonable!

  2. I love both types of anime, so I guess I just can’t fall under those two categories. Too general.

  3. personally i don’t care if people think i’m a otaku but i love G.I.T.S one of my all time fav anime along with Cowboy bebop but k-on is one of my favs too so am i both? ?_?

  1. Pingback: b_otakuを調べました【Otaku-Girl】

Leave a Reply

