Top 10 Most Disappointing Anime of Spring 2011

Anyways, another post that isn’t by me, and actually belongs to Sankaku Complex. Original link is :http://www.sankakucomplex.com/2011/04/25/top-10-most-disappointing-anime-of-spring-2011/

The reason that I’d like to blog about this post is because of some unfairness of the ratings given and  I’d like to go over each show a little bit and talk about how they made me feel.

So without further ado, here’s the list:

  1. Nichijou
  2. 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku
  3. DOG DAYS
  4. A Channel
  5. Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai
  6. Steins;Gate
  7. Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko
  8. Henzemi
  9. Hidan no Aria
  10. Softenni
1.Regarding Nichijou, I can’t say that I wasn’t disappointed, but I thought the overall quality of the show was a pleasurable experience. There really isn’t much to complain about other than the lack of a centralized plot line. As for what Nichijou really is, its just a slice of life comedy show that’s not meant to be something as a grand of a show like Azumanga Daioh. So people, chillax, you just had too high of expectations for a show that is good, but not great
2. Hmm, I’m actually quite ambivalent about 30-sai’s standing. It’s true that the first episode and the pretext showed a lot of promise, but its not as if the quality of the show immediately dropped after the first few episodes. I will admit that at certain times I found the show to be quite mediocre, but come on! It’s too early in the season to say anything about the show! Just look back on Infinite Stratos. Everyone said it’d be bad but according to the BD sales, it’s #1 on the Oricon charts at the moment. Beat that! So, I think we should actually wait to see a bit more of 30-sai before coming to hasty conclusions as I’m sure that the 3rd episode ending was certainly a pretty good cliffhanger
3.Eh…haven’t watched it. More as in like, I couldn’t get past the opening. I just didn’t get attracted to the show in the beginning anyways. I’ll pick it up later when the show ends… So, can’t say if it was a disappointment or not…
4. Personally, I’ve only seen snips of the first episode and I can say for sure that this series didn’t show much hope in the beginning anyways. I mean, does it make sense that a lolicon ecchi show features high school students looking like they’re in grade 4? Doesn’t quite make sense right? Well certainly I wasn’t disappointed, but rather I didn’t even like the premise of the show anyways.
5. According to my own personal hopes for OreTsuba, it certainly ranks #1 on my disappointment list. There’s nothing about this show that compelled me to watch the 2nd episode. Despite the fanservice and the half-decent art, I just couldn’t get pulled in by the storyline. The whole character list is somewhat of a trainwreck and the ED theme of the show shows a genre completely different from the feeling I got by watching the first episode. This was a big catastrophe if you ask me. Maybe it’ll get better in the subsequent episodes, but in the meantime, I think I’ll stave off from touching OreTsuba
6. Steins;Gate wasn’t actually that bad…maybe too little lack of concern for the art, but other than that, the story line seemed agreeable. Personally, I had some high hopes for the show, but since I’ve only watched the first episode, I don’t think I should really be making any comments…
7. Denpa was certainly not a disappointment for me. Are you kidding me? It actually surpassed my expectations! I thought the show’s story, characters, and art showed a lot of great promise! What’s going on?!
8. Henzemi. Check A Channel’s comments
9. Haven’t seen Hidan no Aria…too busy with Star Driver at the moment….
10. Check A Channel’s comments
So, there were definitely some disappointments for the Spring 2011 shows, but what I think is, rather than the show being a disappointment, I really wasn’t interested in the first place anyways. Therefore it didn’t affect me so much. As for some shows like Denpa and Nichijou, I didn’t think they were disappointments at all. I think the reason they’re on this list is because people just haven’t seen enough episodes. Same thing applies for 30-sai, so I think the moral as of now, is just wait till about mid-season, then we can come to a decisive conclusion on what shows were disappointments and what shows were actually good.
About SabishiiMiruku

Venti cup of Tsundere and Imouto service. Free of charge. Student, Blogger, & アニメ青年 | なんでやねん?!|

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

